Comparing NEM to other ALT Coins and Bitcoin

I see many posts with great enthusiasm; however, they often show typical bias for a pet project. I too invest in NEM, but I am also a programmer and looking at all the great things to DO with NEM. I have great optimism for the price of XEM as time passes.

Here is the part many writers forget when making comparisons. Suppose you have a bank (bitcoin), and someone starts a company for helping a bank run its business (Microsoft), and someone else start a software company to manage accounting for the bank (Quickbooks) running on the business software (Microsoft). You never saw Microsoft (NEM) talking about how their market cap was going to make the bank (bitcoin) worthless, or how Quickbooks (Mosaics application) were going to be bigger than Microsoft (NEM). Those comparisons are not meaningful to the products, companies or applications. The only thing that matters is will the specific “company or application” be profitable. Then identify, if and how the other products or services impact the bottom line of your profit or success.