Analyzing Proof of Importance and its correlations

The discussion of the actual affect of the importance calculation compared to pure proof of stake has come up quite a number of times over the years, without there ever being a real answer to the question. This question has come up more in recent times, due to the potential of launching catapult with different consensus mechanisms.

Someone in the community has taken up the challenge to analyse the PoI algorithm. They have developed a script that outputs some interesting information, which they have given me to share on their behalf. My not being a python developer, i asked @crackTheCode if he would be able to get the script to run and he did after some minor data set issues were resolved. Thanks bader.

The code, graphs, raw data and formatted data can be found here

Below is a graphical view of the output of the script:

And this is the non-graphical output for any of you that might be curious:

PoIvsPoS_Catapult_NIS1.pdf (26.9 KB)

Also thanks to @CryptoBeliever for (unwittingly) providing the raw data for this analyses. :wink:

8 Likes

Nice work but I got no clue what those graphs are telling me.

I think the most meaningful comparison would be to actually re-calc importance scores for a good chunk of accounts and comparing those. POS implementations vary just using the catapult formular should give us some insights.

2 Likes

So, based on the graph top right, it looks as though the larger the balance of an account, the lesser effect that the PoI aspect of the consensus algo has on an accounts importance. ie. an account with 500k xem vested balance that has never been active would have an importance of roughly 90% of what it would, had pure proof of stake been used, and an account with 50k xem that has never been active would lose 10% its importance vrs PoS, or close to double its importance should it be highly active.