Passwords for Brain Wallets

I have bought a few NEM coins and want to transfer them from an exchange to a wallet. Unfortunately, things are not easy, because using Google you can generally find lots of stories. And quite a few opinions. And everything is scary…

Personally, brain wallets sound fantastic to me. You just need to remember how your fantastic password is being constructed. Unfortunately, research also let to a thread called ‘Please, stop using brain wallets!’

In it was also this:

Someone else said:

Okay, scary. But what is a VERY GOOD and STRONG password? And when having one, are brain wallets really evil?

Let’s say I come up with the following: one of the ten commandments in Finnish, Mother Teresa’s birthday and a very smart dude from Cameroon glued together. So, I am not a security expert at all, that is why I am asking here, but can such a construction be considered super safe for a brain wallet? Or am I still getting something completely wrong???

+aelkoeoensinullaolkomuitajumaliaminunrinnallani++26081910 +++AchilleMbembe++++

Why you don’t want use simple wallet? Simple wallet is best in my opinion. It’s secure and only thing what you really need to backup is your private key with is 64 chars. Of course you need also have password for wallet file but it’s not required to be so strong because first hacker need have access to your computer and get wallet file from disk.

On other hand for brain wallets private key is generated only from password. If any user use the same password then he has access to your wallet. They don’t need have access to your computer. Just generate random passwords and check if exists wallet with not empty balance related with this password.
This is why brain wallets are less secure and brain wallets with simple password are extremely unsecure.

1 Like