Purchased $50 of NEM and it Shows Less in My Wallet of USD?

Hi.
I’m new to this, so I don’t know if this is a NEM question or Changelly.
I purchased NEM with USD. I paid $50 USD for NEM.
When I went to my wallet, the balance in my wallet is saying $29.04 USD and then the amount in NEM, which is correct.

Any ideas why this happened? I would think it would say $50 USD as the amount of dollars, as that is what I paid.
Is there a fee that I’m missing for setting up a wallet or something?

Thanks,
Julia

Because the price of xem has gone down:joy:

1 Like

Hi,

I think you missed the transaction fee and also a conversion fee, cryptocoin excanges do pretty much as the real ones do, take provision, you buy xem for 2 but sell it back for 1.5 (figures as examples as i don’ t know the real math in your case)

Also when you send xem, that costs xem, even more when the exchange sends it, altho it should not be. But i think they cut there too…

Check the terms of use and fees at changely, it might explain your situation.

I didn’t yet use “real” currency to buy so take my words with a grain of salt, maybe someone else has better explanation

Also what he ^^ said, it’s a dynamic market…

Altho xem should go up to have it less, if it went cheaper you would get more for same $ ammout

Thanks. I would know if it went down by 40%, which it didn’t. It was actually the other way around.

It laid out the fees, and I’ll have to look again. That is the only explanation that makes sense, as it did not drop in value in less then 30 seconds by 40%. I know that.
And maybe there’s something between Changelly and the Nano wallet? I guess we’ll see. I’m not planning to sell anytime soon anyway.

Thanks for your insight.