Supernode costs - are new entrants possible?

I would like to help the NEM network by running and operating some supernodes in various locations. I’m new to NEM, but I’ve got some sysadmin skills. After reading the whitepaper and some of the code, I was convinced and invested a few thousand dollars. However after reading more, it looks like it’s maybe not feasible for me to operate any supernodes, as it would cost 3,000,000 XEM (over a half million dollars!) for each node. I understand the need to ensure people are really serious, but at the current price, how will anybody join? I’m serious, and I can’t. How will the network grow?

You can run a node without joining the supernodes program. It will help secure the network just as any supernode. The only difference is that a supernode has to exhibit certain prperties with regards to bandwidth, availability,…

That’s my point - I’m in a position to be able to ensure those bandwidth and availability targets are met.

Unless you find someone providing the necessary xem you cannot set up a supernode.
But again, for the network it is not important if the node actually has joined the supernodes program.

Oh, is that the intended model? To find a sponsor to give the xem to be able to join the program? I’m honestly trying to understand the incentive structure here. I thought the supernode program was meant to incentivize people to add fast servers to the system and maintain a high quality of service, but maybe no more incentive is needed…

It is, and we already got a very strong network due to the program.
Lately xem price has surged so it is getting harder to grab enough xem to be able to join.
You are a bit late therefore…

Got it, the program is effectively closed to newcomers. I’ll direct my energy elsewhere.