Why no NEM Virtual Machine?

I hope this doesn’t sound too dumb to ask for the sake of my knowledge, why doesn’t NEM have its own virtual machine like Ethereum does for its smart contracts?

• NEM has no smart contracts like in Ethereum
  • It’s no need to have own programming language. NEM use HTTP API. It’s easy to integrate in each application.
2 Likes

Hi Guys,

Sorry i’m new to nem. Do you guys know how to configure NIS using proxy server with authentication?

Thanks.

What would you develop in such NEM virtual machine?

• ERC20? Already have Mosaic.
  • Multisign contract? Already have multi sign NEM accounts.
  • Storage? Better use IPFS or in the future ProximaX
  • Please add your own…
1 Like

Any and all contracts that aren’t multi-sig or assets and there’s plenty of those. Anytime you want to put actual business logic on the chain (e.g. for resiliency or transparancy) you’re fresh outta luck with nem.

Actually the complexity of some of the things you can do on NEM is way better than what you can do on Ethereum. Don’t get me wrong, in Ethereum you can in theory do “anything” but the reality on the ground is that most contracts are really what was mentioned above which are multisig and ERC20.

But lets say you want to do some really advanced stuff, like name domains. NEM has a naming service that came at launch (which was before Ethereum launched) and worked great where as the ENS has stumbled and is still in “alpha”.

Or what about levies on txs for your ERC20, good luck, most complicated contracts like that on Ethereum sooner or later get hacked or blow up.

And then we have Voting, Done. And we have the most advance file notarization, done. These go back years.

And if you can do very complicated things for business logic on Ethereum, why is there no ETC <-> ETH swap contract that is trustless? But on NEM in between Catapult to Catapult chain, it is already in the SDK. Super easy.